During the Depression

I was scraping the last bit of peanut butter I thought about what Grandma told me about the depression.

Gpa made $190 a year teaching and that only for the nine months he taught.  So in the summer he drove a taxi.  This was before he took the civil servants test and became a weatherman for the government.

Grandma loved to sew and she was very good at it.  Our clothes were fitted and lined.  She taught me how to sew and  I will always regret that I didn’t get her to teach me about altering patterns.

She told me during the depression, money was so tight, she even sewed underwear for her, Gpa and mom.  All I could think is that, my family would be very unfortunate if I had to make their underwear.

Once when mom was in high school, she and grandma were remaking / updating her dresses.  There were dresses everywhere.

Um, Gpa got in trouble when he made a comment on the number of clothes he saw.  I guess he thought they had gone on a shopping spree.

 

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a comment