Looks Like an Old Man

ketchup

ketchup

There will be days, months even that there seems to be no real decline.  Lately,  he’s been having a hard time following instruction.  I’ll tell him to take off his shoes and he’ll hold out his hands for me to take his gloves.  I’ll ask him if he wants to go for a ride, he’ll nod but not move to get up.

The other day I really took a look at Gpa.  He’s looking old.  More old.  He has a slight grey tinge, his cheeks are more sunken and his eyes are dull more often.

My daughter was visiting and I mentioned that to her.  She said it is because he is an old man.  “Aren’t you Gpa?”  He nodded.

I will start to worry and then he’ll do something that reminds me he still has a lot of living to do.  I left a ketchup packet on the table.  I was hearing a juicy sound coming from Gpa at the table but I was busy visiting my daughter so I didn’t investigate as I thought Gpa was playing with his coffee.  I was glad he had found something to do.

When I finally checked on him, he had little squirts of red all over his bib, the table, and his pants. He could see there was still some left.  He asked me to cut it in half.  I said, “OK.” and I took it from him.

He’s still got that problem solving scientific mind.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

