My Sing-a-Long Band’s Greatest Fan

Tonight Gpa and I went to the church and had potluck and Beatles sing-a-long event.

The guys were late and I was getting worried that I would be a solo act.  Which wouldn’t be good since I didn’t know all the chords for all the songs.

I made homemade bread and Tomato Basil soup.  I grew the tomatoes and basil.  Both were a hit!

We had fun.  Gpa was our greatest fan, was where our first row would have been if we had rows.  And clapped.  And was so happy when he got to the car at the end.

At one point I put my guitar down and leaned it against the food table.  Gpa scooted to the table and knocked over the guitar before I could grab it.  No damage was done.  Whew!  He was also the first one clapping and that was cool. Of course he’s a fan.  That’s his granddaughter up there!

We had three songs left and I couldn’t ignore Gpa trying to stand up.  Sometimes that means he’s gone to the bathroom and is uncomfortable.  I asked the guys if they could do the next song. “Hey Jude” They said yes and I whisked Gpa away.

We took so long, I could hear them sing the next song.  I hear bits of “Why she had to go, I don’t know, she wouldn’t say.”  HAHAHA.  Nope, I just excused ourselves.

Well, they don’t have tabs on the depends I get thought there are tear away seams.  I had this dirty thing and didn’t have a good way to dispose of it.  I didn’t have a bag so I thought I’d just lay it in the outside trash can.  I slipped out the back.  The trash can wasn’t where it was supposed to be and it would take to long to take it to the street.  So I ran to my car and put it in the floor board in the back seat, folded over nicely.

Then I ran to the building and entered by the front door.

We were ready for the last song.  Hurrah!

We were done by 8:30.  Then was time to clean up.

Gpa’s favorite part was getting back to the car.  He said, “I’m so happy.” When I opened the passenger door to let him in.

I’m thinking he’s going to sleep well tonight.  I know I am.  Well, that is if he doesn’t wake me up.

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

