Getting the Belt

As a kid the worst thing to hear dad say is, “I’m getting the belt”  I don’t think dad ever used it.  I do remember him grabbing it and snapping it a few times.  Boy, that would get my sister and I to shape up quick.

Yesterday the PT gave me a gait belt to help keep Gpa on his feet.  Oh, what a big help something so simple is.  My back is so happy.

So in the middle of the night when Gpa got up and was so wet.  I told him, “I’m getting the belt.”  I had to smile because it means something completely different.

I wonder if his dad ever said he was going to get the belt?

We’ll never know.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

