Music Language

When I was younger, my mother bought a piano and my sister and I had lessons.  She told us that we would be glad later that we had the training.  She said this when we complained about having to practice our lessons.  She is right.  I am glad I know how to read music and play the piano.

When the kids were little, I learned to play the guitar.  I play mostly by chords or if there is tab notation.  I know that I could learn the individual notes but I haven’t taken the time.  I wanted to get to playing.

Last year I got a Ukulele and I learned it like I did the Guitar.  I have learned some picking patterns and tried out a claw hammer style strum.

Now I have a violin.  It is quickly becoming my favorite instrument.  (Don’t tell the others)

I have discovered something very interesting.  Since I am learning to play by reading the notes, I am having to map where the note is on the piano before I can get the right finger to the right string.

It feels like piano is my first language and I’m learning violin as my second language.

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • catterel  On January 10, 2013 at 11:28 am

    That’s interesting – I also learnt the piano as a girl, and if I am trying to sing from the notes, I find my fingers are feeling for invisible piano keys – otherwise I don’t know what to sing. Even then, I sometimes hit a wrong note!

  • webmasterpluc  On January 10, 2013 at 7:51 pm

    I’ve been teaching myself the uke for just over a year – I too have mainly been playing by chords. But I find when I try to work out the notes, I’m doing the violin fingering that I learnt at school & haven’t played since!
    Strange what stays with you years later.
    Happy strumming & bowing!
    Jeanette

Leave a Reply

