Serenity Prayer

Tuesday was rainy.  Tuesday was also garden harvest day.  Even if the weather is bad,  we get together and have breakfast.

So I planned to go and take Gpa.

While getting him out of bed, he couldn’t hold himself up and went down, knocking against my knee (which I equated to a quarterback’s injury) I had to get my daughter to help me get him into the chair.

In the struggle, I asked God why it had to be so hard.  He replied, I didn’t have to go to the garden.  I growled that I had paid the price to go when my knee got whacked.

So we got Gpa loaded into the car and had a lovely breakfast.

Oh before I could get to the lovely part, I told one of the ladies I needed a hug and how hard the morning had been.  She is going through a similar situation and reminded me of the serenity prayer.  She shared that she says it daily.

I have known about the serenity prayer but it has been a long time since I prayed it.  I was doubtful that it would help, but I’ve been praying it instead of railing against the bars of the cage called life.  And it has been helping.

It goes like this:

Lord, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
the courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.

This is what most people know but I looked it up once and it’s longer.  Check it out sometime.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • catterel  On January 12, 2013 at 10:09 am

    That prayer is on my mother’s tea tray, so she reads it every day, and since I’ve been looking after her and preparing her meals, I read it too. You are right – it does help. It helps her not to get frustrated that she can’t do things for herself, and me not to get irritated. 🙂

  • letstalkaboutfamily  On January 13, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    I have nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogging Award. I count you among the blogs I read regularly for care giving support. I wanted to share your blog with my readers also.

    • nothousebound  On January 17, 2013 at 7:57 am

      Thank you so much! That means a lot to me!

      • letstalkaboutfamily  On January 17, 2013 at 2:17 pm

        You’re welcome. I follow your blog regularly and learn from how you integrated caregiving into your life.

Leave a Reply

