A Change of Plans

Yesterday the following is what I wrote down to get done:

Hospice 10ish
Library
Hair cut 1
? truck
practice music
look up about copyright

The only thing that got done was practice music.

It had snowed in the night and there was 2 inches in the back yard.  It was funny to see  the dogs reaction.

Because of the snow, hospice called and asked if they could come at 11.  Sure, we weren’t going anywhere.

Because of the snow, the stylist asked if we could move the hair appointment to Wednesday.  My daughter said, I could also see about a different day.  So I said I would wait and call to reschedule, if that was OK with the stylist.

Because the truck wasn’t ready, we didn’t pick it up.

I cleaned off the car because I didn’t yet know we wouldn’t be leaving the house, started laundry and gathered my music to play for Gpa.

I changed him and shifted his position.  Got settled myself and began to play.

I played, “In the Garden”, an admitted favorite.  Then went on to other church songs that he grew up with.  I finished with songs the band I’m in has written and plans to record next month.

I was playing the ukulele and had planned to practice the violin next.  I looked over and Gpa wasn’t breathing.  Or was he?  I had put him in plaid pajamas and couldn’t tell if it was the look of the pattern or if he was breathing very shallow.

I went to ask my daughter if she thought we should wait for hospice.  She asked about his pulse.  Oh, yeah, I had forgotten we can check that.

No, no pulse.

I called hospice and they asked if I called 9-1-1.  No, I wanted to know if they still wanted to come out.  No, they said to call 9-1-1, so that if they could do something to revive him, they could.  I replied that he has a DNR.

She had never had this happen before so she put me on hold to discuss with her supervisor.  I’m not surprised,  Gpa is a one of a kind type of guy.

She said to call 9-1-1.

And the rest of the day was filled with taking care of Gpa, then talking about Gpa.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • JRizz  On January 16, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    So sorry to hear of Gpa’s passing, as I’ve been following your story for quite a while now. I know I am a stranger to you, but I will send all my positive energy to you to get you through this sad time. But you are so lucky, as that is the most beautiful passing one could ever hope for. Peace be with you always and may your Gpa’s soul find eternal peace.

    • nothousebound  On January 17, 2013 at 7:53 am

      Thank you so much for your words and positive energy. I am blessed in the way Gpa left this life. I couldn’t have asked for better.

      Please continue to follow as I’m sure there is still plenty to say about this journey.

  • sarahlangdon  On January 21, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    So sorry to hear about Gpa’s passing — and yet to picture him, going to heavenly rest to the sound of you playing ukele, well, there’s just something sweet about that.
    Peace to you.

Leave a Reply

