Not Working Doesn’t Mean Not Doing Anything

I have been updating my resume and writing cover letters.  Not sure exactly where to put the last year and a half.  On the resume, or just in the cover letter? My resume has education (put the SMU MBA on top) next is skill sets and then a list of the jobs with dates.

I had a friend give her boss my resume and they asked her for my job experience.  It’s on there, not in the traditional order, but the list is there.  If they can’t find it, maybe other’s can’t either.

argh!

I did get a bite from SMU and have filled out pre-interview questions.  Have to wait til next week to see if they are interested.

I’ve also gone to a Career Connections meeting and learned about the work to be had in the cloud.  Looked around at Odesk.com and plan to check out Elance.com  My goal is to sign up or what ever you do and try it out.

Here are somethings I’ve done that I’m pondering where to put in my communication with potential employers, or their computer programs that weed resumes out.

Created this blog, began a juggling class, joined a community garden tended my plot and harvested weekly for the food pantry, started a monthly crime watch meeting, formed a band that has performed 9 times and a gig in June, spent time painting with watercolors, purchased a violin and am learning to play.

And here I was thinking I’ve been lazy, hanging out, playing spider solitaire.  Well, I’ve played a lot of it just don’t think it should be on the list. But looks like it’s not the only thing I’ve been doing.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • catterel  On April 5, 2013 at 9:46 am

    Heartfelt sympathy yet again! BUT you will do it, Laura. Don’t try to cram too much into your résumé, bosses don’t have time or patience to read through pages and pages!

    • nothousebound  On April 8, 2013 at 12:44 pm

      that’s a good idea. I’ll review and make sure I tell them what I do/ have done that they are looking for. I’ve been thinking of taking the MBA off for the jobs that do not require it.

  • JRizz  On April 5, 2013 at 2:28 pm

    Hey Laura, congrats on the bite from SMU! I too have been hard at work looking for employment & finally found my dream job! (Only took 6 months!) I have found that the trick to resumes are keywords. So instead of listing all the things you’ve been doing, try listing the skills you’ve acquired in the process! You’re a blogger now, so can you format in HTML? You have excellent writing skills! While taking care of Gpa, you were a Personal Healthcare Provider! Think of those computer systems that “weed out” resumes as hunting dogs…they are seeking key phrases, so try converting your “experience” into “key skills”. Also move your work experience to the top & education to the bottom. The second best advice I received in my search is to get rid of any objectives & replace it with a summation of who you are as a person. I am a recent college grad with experience as an executive assistant. I am a proficiency expert with a theatre arts degree.
    If you’d like me to take a look at it, feel free to e-mail me at: Jordan.Rizzieri@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

