Productivity Does Not Equal Value

There is a photo in our album where Gpa is changing my diaper.  I wasn’t very productive at that age.  It didn’t matter.

Family members considered part of raising a child.  It is part of love.  Love has a different value, it does not look to productivity in an individual.

As he got older Gpa was worried that he would become a burden.  He never was.  Even that last week.  It was the love we shared.  It was the twinkle in his eye, the spark of life.

I have known parents who have supported their children until they are 18, 30, 50 even.  And yet there is a debate on what to do with the costs involved in caring for the elderly.

Yes, it is something to be concerned about, but we must be careful not to set an age or lack of productivity where the care is not longer given.  We must remember they were there for us when we could not care for ourselves.  Shouldn’t we care for them now?

I have found free online classes at coursera.org.  I am taking a rhetoric writing class and may come back to this topic when I have learned more.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • catterel  On April 22, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    Your title shocked me – of course value doesn’t depend on productivity! Then I realised how old-fashoioned I am … so out of date. Are my values obsolete?

    • nothousebound  On April 23, 2013 at 12:33 pm

      I’m worried that as the baby boomers age, legislators will make short term, short sighted decisions that will have long range consequences. Too many times, the bottom line is the highest priority. I don’t think you are old-fashioned at all.

Leave a Reply

