Those Who Have Gone Ahead

Telling a story about my dad to a friend, got  the response that she doesn’t think of me having a dad.

She’s only known me and Gpa.

The grandbabies refer to me and Gpa as, Grandma and Grandpa.  But my sister and I and my children knew George and Lela to be Grandma and Grandpa.

Dad has been gone since 2000.  Has it really been 13 years?  No, I don’t talk about him much.

Mom and Gma have been gone since 1994.  Almost 20 years.  Where has the time gone?

Makes me wonder what I’ll be writing about 20 years from now.  The babies will be turning the same age as my children are now.  The kids will be in various stages of their 40’s.

Oh,have I told you that they have started calling me while they are in the back yard playing?  Almost like being there.

Joey wants to know if I have a pool.  He quickly got off the phone when I said no.  I’m sure I would have had a longer conversation if I had said yes.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

