Those Kids are a Mess

“Those kids are a mess.”  is what my neighbor two doors down said to me when I shared that I ran over a football. The two boys outside pointed to each other.  “It’s his.”  

They weren’t playing with it. It was just in the street.  

I was on my way somewhere so I just threw the flattened football on the sidewalk.  At first I thought, “great, I don’t have to do anything because I don’t know whose football it is.”

Um, I was raised to replace what  I broke.  And I ponder a lot and thought.  If  I was a kid, and I was once.  Even if I couldn’t admit it was my football. I’d miss it.

And I was a kid that wouldn’t have admitted it was mine as I would have assumed I would be in trouble.

So last night while running errands I bought a football.  Sometime today I’ll go next door and tell that neighbor I am sorry and that I don’t know who to give the football.

My neighbor two doors down doesn’t think I need to do anything else.  He’s wrong.  I’m an adult and have a responsibility to model the behavior I want to see in others.  I told him I’m a seed planter.  I have faith that even something as small as replacing a football can make a difference.

Those kids don’t have to be a mess.  

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • catterel  On July 19, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    Bless you for being a seed planter. If everyone followed the precept of “do as you would be done by” instead of “do as you are done by” then no kids would be a mess.

  • Susan Welsh  On July 19, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    That is so nice of you. I would not have thought of it in that way. I hope the kids learn a lesson from this.

Leave a Reply

