Propagating Passion Flowers

In the Spring Season, I helped clear a bed.  I was wanting to get some flowers to attract the pollinators to my garden at home. I was thinking Zinnia’s so I dismissed the offer to take the stray passion flower vines we were pulling up from the bed.

I was told that at the nursery, they go for $20 a pot. Sometimes I’m slow on the uptake.  It took me a few minutes of working and thinking to process: Passion flowers attract pollinators.

And here I was given the opportunity to have 6 plants for effort of digging them up.

I took them, planted and watered.  They looked like a bunch of sticks for quite a while but I’m happy to say, I’m getting flowers now.

passion flowers

Passion Flowers in my backyard

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • catterel  On September 12, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    Those are fantastic – I’ve never seen passion flowers that colour before. Only drawback is that they open, bloom and die very quickly. My friend and I once sat and watched a passion flower bud opening, it was like watching a speeded up film, it went so fast. Beautiful plants.

  • myfoodandflowers  On September 12, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    Good for you! It is a pretty flower and easy to grow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

