Four O’Clocks and Hummingbirds

I didn’t rush back into the house after I let the chickens out.  There were a few purple hull peas to harvest and there were seeds in the four o’clocks.  I love the bright pink of these flowers and the ease of growing them.  The bushes I have came from a clipping from a fence on my route to work.  I think it is so clever that many plants have more than one way to propagate.

The seeds  I collect will go into making seed balls, some of which will be planted in the borders of the garden labyrinth.

As I quietly collected, I saw a movement.  At first it looked like a moth collecting nectar.  It’s coloring looked to be plaid.  I stopped what I was doing and watched.  The wings looked to be moving like a hummingbird!  If I had my phone with me I would have taken a picture.  But I don’t think it would have been a good picture.  The small thing was moving so fast that I don’t think it would have been in frame in the time between my pressing the button and the actual taking of the picture.

So I stood quiet and watched.

It was a great way to start the day!

I hope you have a great day as well.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Leave a Reply

