Another Type of Crabapple

On Sunday I learned there is more than 1 kind of crabapple.  There is an ‘eat off the tree’ variety.  It’s a bit bigger than the kind we had growing up.

Those were good for neighborhood kid wars and having Gma make jelly.  Oh, those were the days.

I ate one on Sunday and had the good fortune to take a bunch home.  I thought fondly of the jelly my Gma made but I really don’t have the equipment to do that properly.

So I pulled out my cookbook and made a crisp.

I didn’t have enough brown sugar.  Forgot to put it on the list this week.  But I did have a jar of molasses in the back of the fridge.

I mixed the topping and covered the apples.  I had quartered them and saved the seeds.

I had a hard time waiting for it to cool and then wished I had vanilla ice cream to go with it!

 

Crabapple

Crabapple

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

