Thoughts about Hospice

This week a garden friend was put on hospice. She’s been fighting cancer for a little over a year now.
It’s no longer responding to treatment.

She had a crises on Thursday. She thought she was dying and she was alone. Another garden friend and I were headed to her place. He son left work to come.

She was mad, she told me the angels didn’t show up. I told her I didn’t know what she was talking about. She asked, “Aren’t the angels supposed to come get you?”

“I don’t know, my grandmother’s dad came for her.”

“Well, no one has come!”

I think she decided that now she is on hospice, it’s time to go, now.

That isn’t how hospice works.

It’s an acknowledgement that the end of life phase has been entered. You can be put on hospice up to 6 months before the end actually happens. Um, well, the calculated 6 months. We really can’t predict when we will be done with an illness.

She thought she would be gone in 2 weeks after she found out about the cancer. She’s still here.
She’s fought the good fight. Looks like she still has some life in her.

I’m sorry she’s disappointed. I’m glad I got to spend another afternoon with her.

I asked her what her favorite Valentine’s day was. She had a lovely memory of when she and her late husband were first engaged.

Even though it is good to talk to people about what is happening, I think we need to be careful and ask questions to determine what hospice means to the person who is ill.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

