A Moment with a Robin

Earlier this year, I noticed a pair of dove nesting in my front tree.  It was nice to know that life was going on even as I felt stalled by transition and loss.

Then I noticed a Robin, late in the season.  Was something wrong with it?  Why was it still here?  Maybe the rains and temperature have kept it from migrating.

Or maybe I’ve just never paid attention after seeing the first Robin of Spring.  Wouldn’t that be funny?  I see the first Robin of Spring, mark it off my list and don’t see anymore until the next Spring.

So the other day after I got home from work, I went into the back yard to putter. Just to check on things really.  The robin flew to the fence and began to sing to me. I stopped my puttering and watched him a bit.

And I wished I understood him better.

Was he calling to his lady? Was he trying to tell me something? Did he consider me at all? I don’t know, I went back into the house.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

