God Bless Us Everyone!

When I was a child, my mother received a Christmas card that had Tiny Tim and his father on it.  The words read, “God Bless Us Everyone!”

I thought it meant Tiny Tim wanted everyone to bless him and his family.  I wasn’t sure how I felt about that.  I also wasn’t sure how that was a Christmas sentiment.

I also didn’t know the Christmas Carol story.

I still haven’t read the story but I’ve seen many versions on TV and on stage.

As an adult, I think Tiny Tim is asking God to bless all of us.  It is his prayer that makes it possible for Scrooge to have a conversion experience.

I wouldn’t be surprised if we found out that Scrooge’s Nephew and wife also prayed in some form as well.

Christmas is a good time of year to open our hearts and pray for everyone.  However, we shouldn’t limit ourselves, we can pray for everyone at all times.

For Tiny Tim’s prayer came back to him.  The blessing in Scrooge reaching out to others caused him to do what was needed for Tim’s health to improve.

A positive spin on the ‘what goes around, comes around’

And so with Tiny Tim, I raise my cup, toast the season and affirm, “God Bless Us, Everyone!”

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

