Conversations About Christians This Week

Before I begin, I am a Christian.  I have been since the 6th grade when my Sunday School teacher, whose family was a different color than the rest of us, lived what she taught.  I babysat for her so I saw her home life was the same as her church life.

My home life did not have the same peace and joy.  My spiritual life has been a rocky one.  I am a sheep that keeps wondering. I consider my life path on and off the track. To the point I really don’t want to talk about it in polite circles.

But I am beginning to think that I’ve always been where I am supposed to be. I do know that God has always been where I have been.  Even in the darkest crevices, the most hopeless of times.  I have not been alone.  He has always been there when I have turned to Him. And even when I haven’t.

That is why I go to church.  To spend some time with God and worship Him.  Tell Him thank you, I’m sorry and to please help me in the coming week.  I don’t go because I’m good.  I go to reset, refresh, renew and restore.

I’m the only one in my family who goes to church on a regular basis. They haven’t had the same experience that I have.  One example, my sister was told in elementary school by a friend that the friend worried about her because she was going to hell for not going to church.

My youngest may be moving 5 states away.  We won’t know for several months yet. Sitting in the backyard, trying to think of ways for her to connect with her new community, I suggested she find a church.  She replied she hasn’t had good experiences in churches.  She has found them to be full of manipulation.

I agree there are people who use faith to get other people to bend to their will.  So I told her I thought it would be a place where she could meet her neighbors.  I pointed out she could look for like minded people on meetup.com.

I pray that she finds community where ever she may go.  And I’m sorry the church is not a place of refuge for her.

Last night I had dinner with my sister.  Six months ago she started a new job.  She answers the phone and helps people with their insurance needs.  She confessed to me that the worst people on the phone are Christians.  They throw that word around as if it entitles them to special treatment.

I nodded, I understood what she was talking about.

I cannot refute what my loved ones say, their experiences are real.  Many Christians have been and are a poor example of what Christ has taught us.

If it hadn’t been for the one family that was different in our church when I was a kid, I don’t know that I’d still be seeking out God in his house.

I hope to be one whose example brings those around me back to the love of God rather than push people away.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

