Adult Words

Laura aged 7

When I was a child, I was taught there were certain words reserved for adults.  Mostly those words were curse words.  However, the n word was in the list that little girls do not say.

So I have to say, there was an allure to those words.  Here is a group of words I can’t say now but someday, when I am old enough and worthy, I will be able to use them.

When I was about 6 or 7 years old, I was riding in the back of a pick-up truck with a group of girls.  The pick-up had a camper on it. (Kids were allowed to ride in the back of pick-up trucks back then, even without a camper shell.)

I can’t remember where we were going.  I didn’t know the other girls very well and I wanted to impress them.  We saw a boy chasing the pick-up and I thought I’d use a grown up word.  That would be impressive, I would show the other girls how grown up I am.

I pointed out the boy and used the n word. I didn’t get the response I was expecting.

One of the girls, must have known more about the word than I did, scolded me. I don’t remember exactly what she said but I understood that there was more to grown up words than I realized. I hadn’t meant to be ugly.

I have never used that word again.

Some words aren’t adult words, they are hurtful and hateful and shouldn’t be used.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

