If I were the President…

The other day at an event, we had an ice breaker where each person was given a card with a question.  We were to go around the room and ask each other the question on the card.  After answering questions about my favorite shoes, and best memory, I was asked what I would do if I were the president.

UGH! I don’t want to be the president. The responsibility is too great, the country too divided, and my to-do list is overloaded to add this job to it. But I didn’t want to be a buzz kill so I thought seriously what I would do if I were in the oval office.

We only had time for me to share the first thing I would do if I were president.  Which is good because I’m not sure what the second thing I would do.

The first thing I would do if I were president would be to get the country on a balanced budget.  I have lived on a balanced budget and I have gotten over whelmed with personal debt.  I like living on a budget better and am successfully getting back on track.  I have paid down a lot of my debt and am working a plan to pay off the rest.  In a timely manner. I’m putting money into savings. Creating a plan and living by it may not be fun however, it is calming, creating a purpose and focus to my life.

I would call the country to tighten it’s belt and be the example for the people who live within the borders. I would encourage communities to work together to create solutions that didn’t throw money at the problem. And we would celebrate successes.

I didn’t say all of the above to the person who asked me the question.  He only heard that I would balance the budget.  His reply is that he would vote for me.

If I am not careful, I may find myself sitting behind a particular desk applying what I have done as an individual to the good of many.

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

