On Still Alice

I watched Still Alice last night. It came out in 2014.

Gpa died in 2013.

It has taken this long for me to be brave enough to watch the movie. I’m glad I did.

Everyone did a fantastic job. All the emotions and struggles we went through were on the screen. And the joy’s. The years I cared for my grandfather will always have a special place in my heart.

Each day was a precious gift where I spent my time in the moment, in his reality and I lived to see the twinkle in his eye as he interacted with me and other people I brought along on our journey.

Not only do I miss him, but those who met him as he slipped away. They too mention of the loss of the delight of who Gpa was even as he became more and more child like.

It’s hard to imagine that it’s been 3 years since he died. As the days go by, I feel the memories slipping away, anchored in place in the moments they happened.

But as I reflect on Still Alice, I think about the going forward. There will be a day in the future. Where we will meet again and that thought takes a bit of the edge off of stepping away from the years Gpa and I had a grand adventure.

Until we meet again, I’ll have to gather other’s who will venture forth on this crazy ride called life. Thank you for letting me share.

Celebrating at JJs

Celebrating at JJs

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

